The 12 Stages of the Hero’s Journey Unveiled by Christopher Vogler in a Captivating YouTube Presentation

I am thrilled to share with you my latest blog post about the captivating YouTube presentation by Christopher Vogler, where he unveils the enlightening 12 stages of the Hero’s Journey. As I delved into Vogler’s insightful analysis, I was amazed by how he intricately breaks down the hero’s journey, allowing us to grasp the essence of this timeless narrative structure. Join me on this exhilarating exploration as we unravel the profound stages that unfold in every hero’s quest for transformation and triumph.

The 12 Stages of the Hero’s Journey Unveiled by Christopher Vogler in a Captivating YouTube Presentation


I recently stumbled upon a captivating YouTube presentation by Christopher Vogler where he unveils the 12 stages of the hero’s journey. As a filmmaker and story consultant, Vogler has popularized this concept and provided a valuable tool for analyzing scripts and understanding story structure. In this article, I will take you through each stage of the hero’s journey as presented by Vogler in his insightful video.

The Ordinary World

The first stage of the hero’s journey is the Ordinary World. Here, the main character and their world are introduced to the audience. Vogler explains that this stage is essential for establishing a baseline and allowing the audience to connect with the protagonist on a personal level. It helps create a sense of familiarity before the adventure begins.

The Call to Adventure

The second stage is the Call to Adventure, where a problem or desire is announced to the audience. Vogler emphasizes that this stage acts as a trigger for the hero, compelling them to embark on the journey. It sets the stage for the conflict and marks the beginning of the hero’s transformation.

The Refusal of the Call

In the third stage, the hero initially rejects the adventure, known as the Refusal of the Call. Vogler explains that this hesitation is a natural response to the unknown and the fear of leaving the comfort zone. However, it is essential for character development and allows the hero to overcome their inner obstacles.

The Meeting of the Mentor

The fourth stage is the Meeting of the Mentor, where the hero encounters a guide or mentor. According to Vogler, this mentor provides the hero with the necessary tools, knowledge, or advice to navigate the challenges ahead. This mentorship plays a vital role in shaping the hero’s journey and aiding their transformation.

Crossing the Threshold

The fifth stage, Crossing the Threshold, marks the point where the hero enters the special world. Vogler highlights that this step represents a significant shift in the hero’s life as they leave behind their familiar environment and venture into the unknown. It symbolizes a point of no return and signifies the hero’s commitment to their journey.

Tests, Allies, Enemies

The sixth stage, Tests, Allies, Enemies, is where the hero faces a series of challenges and encounters new characters. Vogler explains that these tests serve to assess the hero’s capabilities, build alliances, and introduce formidable adversaries. The hero’s skills and determination are put to the test, further propelling their growth.

Approach to the Inmost Cave

The seventh stage, the Approach to the Inmost Cave, is where the hero prepares for a decisive confrontation. Vogler suggests that this stage represents a critical turning point in the hero’s journey, as they gather strength and gather resources to confront their innermost fears or a significant obstacle.

The Ordeal

In the eighth stage, known as the Ordeal, the hero faces their greatest challenge or obstacle. Vogler asserts that this is the climactic moment where the hero is pushed to their limits both physically and mentally. It is through this intense struggle that the hero undergoes a profound transformation.

The Reward

The ninth stage, the Reward, is where the hero achieves or receives something of value. According to Vogler, this reward may vary in form, but it signifies the hero’s progress and validates their efforts. It serves as a source of motivation and fuels the hero to continue their journey.

The Chase

The tenth stage, the Chase, involves the hero being pursued or pursuing someone or something. Vogler explains that this stage adds a sense of urgency and excitement to the story, driving the hero and their allies forward. It introduces an element of suspense and heightens the stakes.

The Resurrection

The eleventh stage, the Resurrection, is where the hero faces death or a metaphorical “rebirth.” Vogler highlights that this stage represents a profound transformation and a new awakening for the hero. It is a pivotal moment where the hero embraces their true potential and confronts their ultimate fear or enemy.

The Return with the Elixir

In the twelfth and final stage, the hero returns with the elixir, bringing back something to benefit their ordinary world. Vogler suggests that this elixir can be a physical object, newfound wisdom, or personal growth. As the hero reintegrates into their ordinary world, they bring about positive change and inspire others with their journey.

Christopher Vogler’s outline of the hero’s journey is an invaluable tool for filmmakers, storytellers, and scriptwriters. It provides a comprehensive framework for crafting compelling narratives that resonate with audiences.


  1. What is the hero’s journey?
    The hero’s journey is a storytelling framework that outlines the stages a hero typically goes through in a narrative. It emphasizes personal transformation, overcoming challenges, and returning back with something of value.

  2. Who is Christopher Vogler?
    Christopher Vogler is a filmmaker and story consultant known for popularizing the concept of the hero’s journey. He has worked with numerous Hollywood studios and authored the influential book, “The Writer’s Journey: Mythic Structure for Writers.”

  3. Why is the Ordinary World stage important?
    The Ordinary World stage is crucial as it establishes a connection between the audience and the protagonist. It allows the audience to relate to the hero and creates a sense of familiarity before the adventure begins.

  4. What is the purpose of the Mentor in the hero’s journey?
    The Mentor plays a vital role in the hero’s journey, as they provide guidance, tools, or advice to the hero. They help shape the hero’s transformation and aid them in navigating the challenges they face.

  5. Why is the Resurrection stage significant?
    The Resurrection stage represents a profound transformation for the hero. It is a moment of facing death or overcoming a metaphorical “rebirth.” This stage showcases the hero’s ultimate growth and inner strength.

In conclusion, Christopher Vogler’s YouTube presentation on the 12 stages of the hero’s journey is a valuable resource for storytellers and filmmakers. By following these stages, writers can create engaging narratives that resonate with audiences and evoke a sense of personal growth and transformation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seraphinite AcceleratorOptimized by Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.